Beca Luis Toharia / Luis Toharia Grant

Luis Toharia Grants

Luis Toharia (1951-2012) deeply influenced research on Labour Economics in Spain. He exercised his excellent teaching and research habilities in the Universidad de Alcalá in Madrid and had an intense career, featured by his extraordinary professional and personal qualities.

His research always focused on very relevant and socially concerned issues, rigorously marked by respectful and deep data treatment, to the point that his probably most relevant contribution has to do with the measurement of employment and unemployment. He also contributed to the improvement of labour statistics in Spain and, therefore, of the data-sets used nowadays by researchers. He also marked many other areas, and his work influenced the elaboration of social and labour market policies. With his well-known extraordinary academic generosity he trained several generations of labour economists and contributed to open spaces for discussion. He personally and deeply engaged in the creation of the Jornadas de Economía Laboral in 1995 and the creation of the AEET, the Spanish Association of Labour Economists, in 2005. His intellectual honesty, his friendly teaching and generosity make him a key figure and a crucial reference for the next generations of labour market researchers in Spain.

In the aim of honouring to our friend and teacher, Luis, for his interest and devotion to incorporate our youngest colleagues in the Jornadas de Economía Laboral, the AEET launched in 2013 a set of grants particularly addressed to support their participation in the Jornadas de Economía Laboral.


Rules and submissions to the 4th edition of the Luis Toharia Grants for Young Researchers in Labor Economics

In 2019 there will be 4 grants for young researchers in labor economics participating in the XIII Jornadas de Economía Laboral. These grants consist on 250 € plus the exemption of the conference registration fee (the fee is returned ex-post).


Departamento de Economía de la Universidad de Alcalá


Applicants must take part in the XI Jornadas de Economía Laboral and be either pursuing a PhD or be recent PhD graduates (defended her PhD no longer than 2 years ago). Applicants do not need to be members of the AEET.


The AEET executive board will appoint a Grant Committee which will evaluate the applications according the following criteria:

  • Relevance of the topic of the paper presented by the candidate in the XI JEL in the field of labour economics.
  • Methodological and scientific quality of the paper.
  • Priority will be given to youths who are pursuing their PhD.
  • Priority will also be given to those who have not previously benefitted from a Luis Toharia Grant.

The Grant Committee may leave the grants void. The decisions taken by the Grant Committee are not subject to appeal.


Applicants must fill in the on-line form located at the AEET’s webpage ( before May 1ST , 2019, and will have to upload the following documents:

  • The paper accepted by the Scientific Committee to be presented in the JEL (a single file either in «doc» or «pdf» formats).
  • A scanned copy of the personal ID / passport.
  • A brief CV (only one page long).
  • A copy of the bank transfer receipt proving that the applicant is registered in JEL.
  • A document stating that the applicant is pursuing a PhD or has defended her PhD no longer than 2 years ago.

The Award Ceremony of the 4th edition of the Luis Toharia Grants will take place during the Gala Dinner of XI JEL conference, together with the IX Lluis Fina Prize Award Ceremony. The grants will be effectively delivered upon presentation by the awardees of a copy of the certificate of attendance and presentation of their paper, together with proof of traveling expenses (tickets/invoices). This information should be sent to the AEET’s e-mail address ( shortly after the conference.

Further information/enquiries: please contact the AEET’s e-mail address ( if you have any enquiries concerning the Luis Toharia Grants.

Previous winners of the Luis Toharia Grants


Grants awarded to:

  • Jaime Cuéllar Martín (Universidad de Valladolid)
  • Celia Melguizo Cháfer (Universidad de Barcelona)
  • Patricia Moreno Mencía (Universidad de Cantabria); Jesús Ortuno Jimeno (Universidad de Castilla la Mancha)
  • Sara Pinillos Franco (Universidad de Zaragoza)
  • Jorge Velilla Gambó (Universidad de Valladolid).


Grants awarded to:

  • Andrés Azqueta Gavaldón (Universidad de Glasgow)
  • Andrés Felipe García Suaza (Universidad Carlos III y Universidad del Rosario)
  • Barbara Masi (Queen Mary University of London)
  • Diana Fernández Méndez (IDEGA-University of Santiago de Compostela) lena Miguel Rodríguez (Universidad de Oviedo)
  • Pedro Trivín García (Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona).


Grants awarded to:

  • Gustavo García (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
  • Manuel Flores (IDEGA – Universidad de Santiago de Compostela)
  • Pau Balart (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid)
  • María Ramos (UNED – Universidad de Alcalá)