Premio Lluís Fina / Lluis Fina Prize

Lluís Fina Prize

Lluís Fina i Sanglàs (1942-2000) was one of the pioneers in the development and progress of labour economics in Spain. He developed his career in the Spanish Ministry of Labour and Social Security, the European Commission’s Employment and Social Affairs Directorate-General, and the Department of Applied Economics of the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona as Associate Professor.

He was a tireless promoter of ideas, publications and even associations related to labour market which, he believed, had to be studied from a broad perspective. He considered historical, sociological, legal and economic aspects to be fundamental in the study of a market as unique as the labour market. He was convinced, in addition, that all academic activity made no sense without practical action and true social and economic incidence. In his view, the final target of any academic research was to help with the correct functioning of the labour market by advising on the design of policies and institutions. With his death, we lost not only a good person but also an advocate of rigorous research, someone who was open to different ideas and clear on his ultimate goal: to help improve the living and working conditions of all people.

To keep his spirit alive, the Scientific Committee of the Jornadas de Economía Laboral and some attached colleagues launched the Lluís Fina Prize in 2003. Its main purpose is to honour and especially keep alive a way to understand how the analysis of the problems associated to the labour market must be approached.


Rules and submissions to the IX Lluís Fina Prize

  1. The aim of the Prize is to recognize both theoretical and applied research excellence in the field of labour economics.
  2. Eligible works are only those published in years 2017 and 2018.
  3. The format of the candidate studies is that of articles published in academic journalsBook chapters in collective works will also be accepted provided they have a distinct research contribution in terms of new results produced by author(s). Complete books or PhD Theses will not be accepted.
  4. There are no restrictions on the number of authors of the paper. Nevertheless, individual works by young researchers will be positively valued. In case of collective works, the Prize will be awarded to all authors.
  5. The scope of analysis for applied research should be the Spanish labor market (at the state, regional or local level) or the European labor market.
  6. There is no limitation regarding the language used in the work or its extension.
  7. The award-winning paper will be selected by a Prize Committee of three independent and leading labor economists appointed by the Governing Board of the AEET. The members of the Prize Committee are non-eligible for the award.
  8. single work will be awarded, although the Prize Committee may consider awarding second prizes or leaving it void.
  9. In the event of draw, priority will be given to authors that have not been awarded with the Lluís Fina Prize before.
  10. The Prize, including possible second prizes, will consist of 3,000 Euros. From this amount the corresponding staturory tax will be deducted.
  11. The Ceremony Award will be held during the celebration of the Jornadas de Economía Laboral.

The deadline for submission of papers will end on May 1st , 2019. The works should be sent to the address, stating in the subject «LLUIS FINA PRIZE». Submitted files should be either in «doc» or «pdf» formats (please submit one single file containing text, figures, tables and appendices).


Previous winners of the Lluís Fina Prize:

VIII PRIZE (2017) (Sponsored by Fundación Juan Urrutia)

  • Rodolfo G. Campos (Banco de España) e Illiana Reggio(Universitat de Girona) por el trabajo titulado “Consumption in the shadow of unemployment”, published in European Economic Review 78, 2015, pp.39-45.

VII PRIZE (2015) (Sponsored by Fundación Juan Urrutia and the Applied Economics-I Department of the Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona)

  • María Cervini-Plá (Universitat de Girona), Xavier Ramos (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona) y José I. Silva(Universitat de Girona) por el trabajo titulado “Wage Effects of Non-wage Labour Costs”, publicado en European Economic Review 72, 2014, pp. 113–137

VI PRIZE (2013) (Sponsored by Fundación Juan Urrutia)


  • Patricia Suárez (Universidad de Oviedo), Matías Mayor (Universidad de Oviedo) and Begoña Cueto (Universidad de Oviedo) for the work entitled “The accessibility to employment offices in the Spanish labour market”, published in Papers in Regional Science, vol. 91, nº 4, pp. 823–848, 2012.

Second prize:

  • Elisabet Motellón (Universitat de Barcelona), Enrique López-Bazo (Universitat de Barcelona) and Mayssun El-Attar (Universitat de Barcelona) for the work entitled “Regional heterogeneity in wage distributions: evidence from Spain”, published in Journal of Regional Science, vol. 51, nº 3, pp. 558-584, 2011.

V PRIZE (2011) (Sponsored by Ministerio de Trabajo e Inmigración)

  • Hipólito Simón (Universidad de Alicante) for the work entitled «International differences in wage inequality: a new Glance with European matched employer-employee data», published in British Journal of Industrial Relations, vol. 48, nº 2, pp. 310-346, 2010.

IV PPRIZE (2009) (Sponsored by Ministerio de Trabajo e Inmigración)

  • Roberto Bande (Universidad de Santiago de Compostela), Melchor Fernández (Universidad de Santiago de Compostela) and Víctor Montuenga (Universidad de Zaragoza) for the work entitled “Regional unemployment in Spain: disparities, business cycle and wage setting”, published in Labour Economics, vol. 15, nº 5, pp. 885-914, 2008.

III PRIZE (2007) (Sponsored by Ministerio de Trabajo y Asuntos Sociales)

  • José Ignacio García Pérez (Universidad Pablo de Olavide) and Yolanda Rebollo (Universidad Pablo de Olavide) for the work entitled “Wage changes through job mobility in Europe: a multinomial endogenous switching approach”, published in Labour Economics, vol. 12, nº 4, pp. 531-555, 2005.

II PRIZE (2005) (Sponsored by Ministerio de Trabajo y Asuntos Sociales)

  • Juan Ignacio Palacio (Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha) and Hipólito Simón (Universidad de Alicante) for the work entitled “Dispersión salarial entre establecimientos y desigualdad salarial en España”, published in Revista de Economía Aplicada, vol. XII, nº 36, pp. 47-81, 2004.

I PRIZE (2003) (Sponsored by Banco de Santander and Fundación Alternativas).

  • Carlos García Serrano (Universidad de Alcalá) and Miguel Ángel Malo (Universidad de Salamanca) for the work entitled “Worker turnover, job turnover and collective bargaining in Spain”, published in British Journal of Industrial Relations, vol. 40, nº 1, pp. 69-85, 2002.